Aronofsky Drops Out Of The Wolverine. My Dream Film Takes A Shot In The Nuts. Hard.   Leave a comment

Hey Everybody,

Something that has been in the trades for weeks now is director Darren Aronofsky will no longer be helming the Wolverine sequel for Twentieth Century Fox.

I can’t remember when any news about a movie has filled me with such disappointment and sadness. I was so looking forward to the Wolverine Japan story line to be handled by someone special and when it was announced that Aronofsky was helming the project I felt as a fan of the character I had hit the jackpot on talent as far as director. With Christopher McQuarrie’s script it was on track to being an epic Marvel film. Now who know the fate of the project as far a director.

In a statement issued by the studio, Aronofsky said, “It became clear that the production of The Wolverine would keep me out of the country for almost a year. I was not comfortable being away from my family for that length of time.” (The film was reportedly going to be shooting in Japan) “I am sad that I won’t be able to see the project through, as it is a terrific script and I was very much looking forward to working with my friend, Hugh Jackman, again.” Twentieth Century Fox echoed Aronofsky’s regret: “While we are of course disappointed that Darren can’t do The Wolverine, we also understand and respect his reasons … Hugh Jackman and Fox both remain fully committed to making The Wolverine. We will regroup and move forward aggressively.”

So there you have it. I’m scared to death about who Fox chooses to replace Aronofsky. No matter who steps into the directing seat on this one has got a lot stacked against them. Living up to the artistry that Darren brings to every film is near impossible to duplicate. Another strong minded artist is what the project needs at this point, I’m really hopping we don’t get a X3 type treatment again. Continuous rapping of my favorite Marvel character by Fox is getting extremely tiresome. I see more pain in my viewing future..

RIP “Darren Aronofsky’s The Wolverine”.

Till Next Time. Stay Tuned.

J.

Leave a Reply

